Autumn Hues and Crackling Fires

The sun’s too hot

The air, too cold

The leaves prepare for snow

 

An opened window

A bustling breeze

Oh where I’d choose to go

 

Forget the books

Just leave the class

These things I already know

 

I’d roam the fields

Of crisp gold grain

Or lay by trees below

 

Ducking under

Towering waves

The sand between my toes

 

But back to books

Lectures and notes

I hate to leave this dream

 

On looking out

The foggy panes

I sigh with great envy

 

The scurrying squirrels

The sluggish bears

All hide away ’til spring

 

And in me the

Reluctance grows

I wish I could do the same

 

But I hate to think

Of the joys I’d miss

Though escape from school’s my dream

 

The autumn hues

Take my breath away

Hot cocoa cheers my soul

 

Crackling fires

And toasted s’mores

Would I really give up this?

One thought on “Autumn Hues and Crackling Fires

  1. Tee hee. I can really see the back-and-forth tossed around here. I love that you captured that season in 2014 and brought it to my memory tonight. Every season is abundantly rich.

Leave a Reply

